ONLINE COURSE: Berlin in the Winter

Experience Berlin in the winter digitally and learn German at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. This course is specifically designed for those who are seeking instruction in the German language and who would love to get a glimpse of Germany's capital.


Course periodJan. 6, 2021 - Jan. 26, 2021
Category Language, Literature & Creative Writing
Course levelsBachelor, Master, Ph.D.
LanguageGerman
Class size

about 12 to 15 participants per language group

Credits and certificate

Participants will receive 5 ECTS credit points after successful completion of the online course. Additionally, six weeks after the end of the online course a Transcript of Records will be issued by Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Application deadline Nov. 15, 2020, or when participant quota is reached
Course fee550.00 Euro | (excl. program fee and discounts)

Online Course Fee

Description

The course focuses on the development of communicative competence in listening comprehension, speaking, reading, grammar and writing.
According to self-assessment and “Sprachpass”, the participants are placed in groups of different language levels. For the best outcome to support the students' progress, different methods are used according to the level and topics covered in class. According to the level of the participants, there might be a focus on certain exercises, in-class discussions and activities.

The respective schedule and content strongly depend on different aspects such as the course book and reading materials, the background of the students and personal interests in terms of topics.

Course Program will be available soon
Course structure

The course content is equivalent to an on-site course offering 45 contact hours. It takes place in form of synchronous sessions (50%) and asynchronous group and self-study (50%).

 

The study time includes:

  • virtual classroom lessons with the lecturer and the fellow students (50%) – three synchronous sessions per week, combined with asynchronous teaching
  • group and/or pair exercises (20%)
  • assignments and self-study (30%)

 

The weekly schedule of virtual class room lessons consists of three sessions per week, and students will be divided into course groups based on their region and time zone:

  • Course days: Tuesday, Thursday and Friday
  • Group 1: 10.00 am – 12.00 pm (Berlin time, UTC+1)
    5.00 pm – 7.00 pm (Beijing time, UTC+8)
    8.00 pm – 10.00 pm (Sydney time, UTC+11)
    3.00 am – 5.00 am (Chicago time, UTC-6)
  • Group 2: 4.00 pm – 6.00 pm (Berlin time, UTC+1)
    11.00 pm – 1.00 am (Beijing time, UTC+8)
    2.00 am – 4.00 am (Sydney time, UTC+11)
    9.00 am – 11.00 am (Chicago time, UTC-6)
Student Profile

Undergraduate, graduate students as well as Ph.D. candidates who are interested in a semi-intensive language course which can be combined with a subject course.

This course is designed for students of German level B1 to B2.

The levels are based on the guidelines set by the "Common European Framework of Reference for Languages".

Participants must be at least 18 years old.

TBA - Qualified language teachers

The lecturers all have academic degrees and international teaching experience. In the varied teaching sessions they are highly committed to the learning progress of the students.

CoordinatorPierre Steuer/ Carmen Opolski/ Sanja Müssig
Contact detailsInternational Department
Unter den Linden 6
10999 Berlin
Germany

huwisu@hu-berlin.de

This course can be combined with: